NMCC EMS department chair AJ Gagnon honored with EMS Merit Award at Maine EMS Awards Ceremony

May 24, 2024

NMCC EMS Program Director Andrew (AJ) Gagnon Jr. accompanied by Academic Dean Angela Buck and President Timothy Crowley. Gagnon received the EMS Merit Award from Maine EMS in Augusta. (Photo credit: MCCS)

Augusta, ME – The Maine EMS Awards celebrated its 2024 recipients at a ceremony held in the Hall of Flags at the Capitol Building in Augusta on May 23, 2024, following a remembrance ceremony at the EMS Memorial. These awards acknowledged the outstanding contributions and achievements of EMS clinicians, partners, and organizations throughout Maine.

There were 24 award winners across seven categories, which included: the Governor’s Award, EMS Excellence Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, EMS Merit Award, Medical Director of the Year, EMS Service of the Year Award, and EMS Community Partner Award.

Among the recipients of the EMS Merit Award was Andrew (AJ) Gagnon Jr., Chair of the EMS Department at Northern Maine Community College (NMCC). Originally from East Millinocket, Gagnon is an alumnus of NMCC’s paramedicine program and also holds a bachelor’s in nursing and a master’s in nursing administration, as well as a considerable number of professional certifications. After volunteering as a firefighter in high school, he discovered a passion for helping people, leading him to pursue opportunities in emergency and critical health settings, including flight medicine. Gagnon was recognized alongside fellow EMS Merit Award honorees Carolyn Stinson and Phillip MacCallum.

NMCC President Timothy Crowley expressed his pride in Gagnon’s accomplishments, “Andrew Gagnon has established a high standard of excellence in the EMS field, inspiring and making a significant impact,” said NMCC President Timothy Crowley. “His dedication and hard work in education contribute to the safety and well-being of our communities. We are extremely proud and fortunate to have AJ as an educator at NMCC.”

Also recognized at Thursday’s ceremony was Dr. Beth Ann Collamore, recipient of the Medical Director of the Year award.  Dr. Collamore contributed to the establishment of the nationally accredited Emergency Medical Services (EMS) program and Critical Care Transport training at NMCC and continues to work with students.

This year’s EMS Week, May 19 to 25, 2024, marks the 50th anniversary as a national week of recognition. The theme, “Honoring Our Past. Forging Our Future,” celebrates the foundational work of past EMS professionals while striving to advance and lead the EMS system into the future.

By Development & Public Affairs | May 24, 2024