Evening of Excellence Honors NMCC Students

May 5, 2023

Aroostook — Northern Maine Community College celebrated senior achievement during an Evening of Excellence on May 3rd to honor students who exemplify the NMCC experience – both in and out of the classroom.

Twenty students were selected – one from each program area – to receive an Academic Achievement Award. A variety of criteria was used to determine the honorees, including academic performance and attitude. The instructors spoke of the qualities and achievements of each of their students and the reason why each student was selected.
A resounding influence in the selection process was attendance, preparedness, work completion and leadership.

This year’s Academic Achievement Awards were given to Kassaundra Belk (early childhood education), Selena Craw (liberal studies), Darren Pye (accounting), Kristen Cox (business administration), Shane DelMonaco (network administration & cybersecurity), Melissa Alexandra Dupuis (emergency medical services), Jordan Baker (paramedicine), Cassandra Halverson (nursing), Morgan Moore (medical assisting), Andrea Gould (medical coding), Grace Malone (practical nursing), Chloe Harvey (automotive collision repair), Daniel Lister (automotive technology), Vicki King (building construction technology), Benjamin Caron (computer numerical control), Issac Gorske (diesel hydraulics technology), Taylor Williams (electrical construction & maintenance), Isaac Crone (plumbing & heating), Shane Voisine (structural welding), and Max Osborne (wind power).

In addition to the Academic Achievement Awards, several other accolades were presented by Matthew Grillo, dean of students. “These awards identify and celebrate those students who not only stand out in the programs, but stand out amongst the entire student body and NMCC community,” said Dean Grillo.

The Falcon Spirit Award was presented to Raegyn Chavez, a business administration and accounting student graduating this spring. This award recognizes students who have gone above the call of duty to help make the campus a better place. Raegyn has provided a variety of support to the college, from tutoring, to giving guided tours to prospective students, to bringing fresh and creative ideas to the admissions department and ensuring quality communication is always provided.

NMCC’s honor society, Phi Theta Kappa, announced the All-Maine Academic Team honorees, Hannah Labbe Morin and Melissa Gustin.

The Award of Excellence was presented to Chloe Harvey and Katelyn Hammond. This award honors students who have demonstrated high excellence for themselves, are creative thinkers, possess high standards of honesty and integrity, and have been an inspiration to others.

Owen Martin was congratulated for his Student of the Year distinction. A reception was recently held to honor Martin and six other students, one from each of Maine’s Community Colleges.

The Instructor of the Year award was determined by student nominations and was presented to Susan (Sue) Beahm, a nursing instructor. Sue will be retiring after sixteen years of service to NMCC. During her time, she has been instrumental in supporting NMCC’s clinical program and simulation center.

Some of the student nominations said this about Sue, “Sue is not only our instructor but an amazing role model, she is always there for us and always giving us feedback in a professional way.” Others added, “She is an amazing teacher whose passion and love for nursing shine in everything she does. She’s an incredible role-model and I look up to her in so many ways. I’m very grateful I’ve had her by side throughout this journey!”

NMCC students, faculty expressed gratitude for Sue and her long-term commitment to quality training of nurses. For more information on the 30+ programs at NMCC, visit nmcc.edu.

# # #